After reading both of the articles provided to us regarding the skills that a PR professional should have when they enter their career, I realized that that the PR profession looks a lot more complex than I originally thought it was. The first blog, written by Dave Fleet did a good job of making me realize all of the skills that one needs for a successful career in PR. In this blog post, the first three skills that he mentions are writing, communication skills, and attention to detail. All three of these are skills that I already possessed that I feel I have mastered pretty well. However, no matter how good someone is at a certain skill, it is my belief that there is always room for improvement. Another skill that he mentioned worth having is the proactive skill. This is something that you must get accustomed to doing. If you don’t know the answer, it is very important that you know how to use the Internet to help you research the information you need. I possess this skill as well. There isn’t any information that can’t be found on the Internet; you just need to know how and where to look in order to find it.

The one skill mentioned that did surprise me a little bit was mentioned in the Mashable piece that we read. It says that PR people need to be a multimedia storyteller. I really don’t think that this is really something that a PR person needs to do because when I think of someone who works as a PR professional, that skill isn’t one of the skills that I have in mind for a PR person to have. However, one can never be TOO skilled at what they do. It doesn’t hurt to have a lot of skills in a lot of different little areas. The only skill I can think of that was left off these two lists to have patience. Lots and lots of patience. Sometimes people might not cooperate with you in the exact manner you want them to. Or it might take them a little longer to understand how you want something done or what you mean or what you are trying to say.

